Chicken farm

Chicken farm

The chicken farm of the Good Shepherd Homes is one of the largest in the region of Bamenda. Every year in September approximately 15000 young chickens are bought which are then sold in December, at Christmas time. However, the number of chickens greatly depends on the political situation in Cameroon and has to be adjusted based on the demand.

Due to the Anglophone crisis, the economy in Bamenda has been severely weakened, resulting in fewer chicken sales. This September there will probably be less than 15000 chickens. Nevertheless, the chicken farm at Good Shepherd Home is the biggest source of income and the money earned can be put into new projects. In addition to the income, the chickens also provide the orphanage with an important source of protein, as some of them are cooked for their own consumption.

SEAD supports the chicken breeding in the Good Shepherd Home, as it is one of the most important projects for self-sufficiency. We are gathering sponsors for the chicks, vaccinations, medicine, vitamins, and feed necessary to keep the chickens healthy and sufficiently fed. With your donation you can directly finance a baby chick or a bag of food and contribute to the Chicken Farm Project of Good Shepherd Home.

 

#buyyourownchicken

Project costs:

  • 1 chick = 1€
  • 10 000 chickens = 10000€

  • 1 bag of chicken feed: 25€
  • 420 bags of chicken feed (for 3 months): 10500€

Hühnerfarm

Hühnerfarm

Die Hühnerzucht des Good Shepherd Homes zählt zu den Größten in der Region Bamendas. Jedes Jahr im September werden an die 15000 Küken gekauft, welche dann im Dezember, zur Weihnachtszeit, verkauft werden. Die Anzahl der Küken hängt jedoch stark von der politischen Situation in Kamerun ab und muss der Nachfrage angepasst werden.

Durch die anglophone Krise ist die Wirtschaft in Bamenda stark geschwächt und es werden nicht mehr so viele Hühner verkauft, wie es vor der Krise möglich war. Diesen September werden es voraussichtlich weniger als 15000 Küken sein. Dennoch bildet die Hühnerfarm im Good Shepherd Home die größte Einnahmequelle und das erwirtschaftete Geld kann in neue Projekte gesteckt werden. Neben den Einnahmen liefern die Hühner dem Waisenhaus auch selbst eine wichtige Proteinquelle, da einige zum Eigenverzehr dienen.

SEAD unterstützt die Hühnerzucht im Good Shepherd Home, da es eines der wichtigsten Projekte zur Selbstversorgung darstellt. Wir sammeln Sponsoren für die Küken, Impfungen, Medizin, Vitamine und Futter, welche nötig sind, um die Hühner gesund zu halten und ausreichend zu mästen. Mit Deiner Spende kannst Du direkt ein Küken oder ein Sack voll Hühnerfutter finanzieren und einen Beitrag zu dem Hühnerfarm-Projekt des Good Shepherd Homes leisten.

 

#buyyourownchicken

Projektkosten:

  • 1 Küken = 1€
  • 10 000 Küken = 10000€

  • 1 Sack Hühnerfutter: 25€
  • 420 Säcke Hühnerfutter (für 3 Monate): 10500€