Good Shepherd Home

Good Shepherd Home

There are over 1,200,000 orphans living in Cameroon, 25% of which have lost their parents due to AIDS and are AIDS orphans. Many of the children have to live on the streets and are forced to take care of their daily survival themselves.

Sister Jane Mankaa found some of these children on the streets and felt it was her calling to give them a home and help them. She decided to travel to the United States in order to work and collect donations so that she could one day fulfill her dream of opening an orphanage in Cameroon.

Sister Jane Mankaa

In 2002 she built the Good Shepherd Home - a shelter for all orphans, abandoned children, children with disabilities and single mothers. At the moment, refugee families from the destroyed villages around Bamenda are also accommodated. Due to the conflict, remaining in some of the villages is no longer safe.                          

The orphanage is located in Bamenda, a town in the North West Province of Cameroon. In the beginning Sister Jane accommodated only three little boys, but now there are more than 150 children of all ages. She not only provides a home and a large family, but also love and the chance for education and training.

The children learn very quickly to live in a large community, to take on responsibility and to cope independently. Through self-supply projects and donations, food and school costs can partly be financed. In addition, the projects and donations contribute to secure the further care of future generations in the “Good Shpherd Home”.

Click here for the official website of the Good Shepherd Home

Click here to display content from Google Maps

Good Shepherd Home

Good Shepherd Home

In Kamerun leben über 1,200,000 Waisenkinder. 25% davon haben ihre Eltern aufgrund von Aids verloren und sind Aidswaisen. Viele der Kinder müssen auf der Straße leben und sich um ihr tägliches Überleben selbst kümmern.

Sister Jane Mankaa fand einige dieser Kinder auf der Straße und fühlte sich berufen, ihnen ein Zuhause zu geben und zu helfen. Sie reiste in die USA um zu arbeiten und nebenher Spenden zu sammeln. So wollte sie ihren großen Traum, die Eröffnung eines Waisenhauses, realisieren.

Sister Jane Mankaa

2002 baute sie das „Good Shepherd Home“ auf – eine Zufluchtsstätte für alle Waisen, ausgesetzte Kinder, Kinder mit Behinderung und alleinerziehende Mütter. Zur Zeit werden auch geflüchtete Familien aus den zerstörten Dörfern um Bamenda untergebracht. Aufgrund des Konflikts ist für sie das Leben dort nicht mehr sicher.                          

Das Waisenhaus befindet sich in Bamenda, einer Stadt in der Nordwestprovinz von Kamerun. Am Anfang beherbergte Sister Jane lediglich drei kleine Jungen, inzwischen sind es über 150 Kinder jeden Alters. Sie gibt ihnen nicht nur ein Zuhause und eine große Familie, sondern auch Liebe und die Chance auf Bildung und Ausbildung.

Die Kinder lernen sehr schnell in einer großen Gemeinschaft zu leben, Verantwortung zu übernehmen und eigenständig zurechtzukommen. Durch Selbstversorgungsprojekte und Spenden können Nahrung und Schulkosten zum Teil finanziert werden und zur Versorgung der weiteren Generationen, im „Good Shepherd Home“, beitragen.

Hier geht es zur offiziellen Webseite des Good Shepherd Home